• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Spopper wanted

Don’t you use a shock leader with those items Eddie?
What if it actually was heading for the far bank and you had to stop it mid flight.
im not a braid expert but I’d imagine a fully loaded spopper or a deeper could crack 40lb braid off dead easy if ground to a halt.
I've never thought about it to be honest Richard, I haven't actually cast the spopper out it out more than 30 yards which doesn't seem to put any strain on the rod or line, the Deeper only weighs 3.4 ounces and I have cast that further to get the lie of the river but again, no noticeable strain. When I fish the Trent, I will probably use a shock leader, but I've no plans to on the Severn.

Don’t you use a shock leader with those items Eddie?
What if it actually was heading for the far bank and you had to stop it mid flight.
im not a braid expert but I’d imagine a fully loaded spopper or a deeper could crack 40lb braid off dead easy if ground to a halt.

I think the general idea with spods/spoppers etc is that flight is supposed to be more of an arc'd curve rather than a level flying missile. Doesn't always go to plan though 😂 I've only used my spopper a couple of times and actually used my drop shot rod with 20lb braid on to launch that, but then it was only a 20/30 yard lob. When I'm carp fish and using maggots in the spod, I use 15lb mainline but do have a Fox tapered leader attached just for those potential mishap moments on the launch 👍 Can't say i've ever cracked off on the mainline despite casting to the clip and often over doing the launch! I'm sure plenty do though.

The ones sold in the shop are converted mini Chinese spombs..well the one I received last week was .
No one makes smaller spombs than the size I received..