• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Fishing prolific Rivers

Alan Andrews

Fished the on the river wye yesterday 10 barbel between 7 and 8 pounds and 15 chub to 5lb 1oz from first light to 15.30 I dont want to sound ungreatful
or a dickhead is this a red letter day or to much to easy after all. All i did was to cast a pellet feeder to the far bank or would 1or 2 fish that i really had to work for been more rewarding.In this day every body wanting more and wanting it now I dont know Ive been fishing for 50 years so perhaps im just a miserable old git.
Alan:confused:
ps excuse the spelling grammer

i know what you mean Alan, the Wye is my local and some days it does seen too easy, its not always like that mind. I find myself doing less and less on the Wye now but its always nice to go back after struggling else where. I get much more satisfaction from 1 or 2 fish off the Teme/Bristol Avon etc now. Well done on the catch though.

I men,

Take the good days with the bad. Everyone gets something different from angling , you will get someone who will come on and say that a stalked barbel with a crapy old centerpin on a floppy cane rod is the way :D. Or , bivvied up on a small river with buzzers :D . Or , queing to get in the famous weir swims on the Trent with buzzer bars etc is the right way .

Truth is enjoying what you do is the right way !

You have got more to worry about than that , your football teams are bloody hopeless :p

Hatter

I always find that the Wye to me is the shot in the arm I need when things are poor on my local. Its not always guaranteed to catch but the likelihood is that you will. Its always nice to have your confidence boosted.