• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Anglers Mail - John Bailey Article

Ian Crook

Bravo John,

Finally, someone has published an opinion, based on very solid scientific facts and research similar to that which I have been arguing on here now for 4 years that Barbel are still there in our rivers in the same sort of numbers they have been for decades, they have just become wiser, more survival concious and hence harder to catch............ Oh, and the chub too............

Thank you Mr. Bailey.

Hi Ian,I read the said article and it left me wondering if that is the case why we are blaming the otter for decimating our rivers ? Something not quite right here.
Albert:)

Absolute rubbish tell him to come fish my stretch of the Bristol Avon which had lots of very nice barbel in it but not anymore.
Thanks
Andy

I have only looked at a brief summary of the article. If otters are present they will have an impact on fish stocks. How much depends on many factors. This is a potentially massive research product with many unknown variables. With a research project, only one variable can be changed at a time to make the study worthwhile. Any science GCSE text book will confirm this. I'm more inclined to believe those people who have witnessed in "their" rivers the barbel decline with the arrival of otters. I don't believe that two brains barbel exists and have learnt to fight off otters - I suspect that the barbel don't have too many opportunities to skirmish with otters, learn lessons and live to fight another day.

Having caught on the Kennet this year the ratio of about 10 fish over 9lb to 1 under 9lb it is apparent that.

1/ There are not many fish coming through or

2/ Older doesn't mean wiser in the fish world :rolleyes: