• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

What line do you use ???

Rob Smith

I have been using fireline on my barbel reels for over 10 years now in 14lb gunsmoke and have only changed it twice. I only changed it then as I had lost a fair amount of it carping in France.

I find fireline to be absolutely awesome, because the line has zero stretch you feel every move the fish makes, making the fight all the more exciting. I even use fireline as the hooklink in 10lb with an animal hook in size 8-10.

Using braid I just need to remember to keep the clutch a little slacker than with mono to cater for fish surges, but apart from that its great stuff. I have heard all sorts of stories about fish being damaged by it, but to date I have had no issues using it what so ever. I can honestly say that with 14lb main and 10lb bottom I have not lost a single hook or rig and I have lost very few fish once hooked and have caused no injuries at all.

The other good thing with fireline is that it has such a small diameter, 14lb fireline is only 0.23mm which is equal to 6lb Diawa monofilament line.

I suspect cases of injured fish are from people who use the reel as a winch and just drag the fish in with 3lb test curve rods and size 4 mega barbed, hooks.

After using Power Pro as a mainline in 30lb for about 3 seasons, and banking a fair few Barbel, hand on heart i have never injured any fish whatsoever. One thing i do with the line is cut back and retie the braid when i see it feathering or after every other session. My hooklength however is fluoro in varying breaking strains. Quite interested in how low a BS you use Rob, and not knocking it whatsoever and if it works for you, then thats OK with me.