• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

The Magic Mix - Astaxanthin boilies

Richard Dawson

I've started rolling my own boilies as per this thread over on maggotdrowners forums:

I read about Astaxanthin and how it was the magic ingredient in the orginal (orange coloured, oily looking) Elips / Ellipse pellets of old so thought i'd acquire some and have a go at rolling it into boilies. I've had a lot of success on them ever since. I'm a novice angler that would usually blank 9 times out of 10, but i must have had 7 or 8 Barbel in the last month alone, mostly on the low stocked and tricky lower Derwent where runs can be few and far between. But also had a brace on the Trent at Fiskerton (BDAAS stretch)

The exact recipe is included in that thread for anyone who wants to roll some, it would be nice if others could give them a go and see what results you get. Expensive though with freeze dried powdered blackberry and Astaxanthin, but how much are you willing to pay to put Barbel on the bank? ;) I've fished them side by side with Sticky Krill active boilies and Source boilies and i just can't get a fish on those off the shelf boilies, tried upstream rod, downstream rod, nearside crease, farsdie crease, out in the flow and my home made boilies are the only ones getting me fish at the minute.

Finished product, the sausages are for cutting up into pellet sized pieces:

20210925_142211.jpg

My recent fish:

Brace of 7lb+ from Fiskerton

20210928_110800.jpg

20210928_121957.jpg

Brace of just under and just over 11lb from the lower Derwent
20210929_225632.jpg

20210930_001036.jpg

And current PB of 12.5lb from lower Derwent.
20211008_182446.jpg