• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Simple rigs?

Craig Shildrick

Does anybody on here fish straight through with a feeder or is it now common practice to use swivels, beads etc?

Would it be more beneficial to use ledger stops and lighter lines if the conditions allow rather than heavier line with a link in?

Im still a novice with Barbel fishing so it would be interesting to know what other people use.

Cheers

The simpler the better I reckon. I do generally use swivels/quick links just to aid speed of change for different hook length material/hook size etc. As for beads etc, I guess it just depends on where/how you are fishing and how much weight you are chucking out and how far. I fish the Kennet so don't need much of a boom as most casts are underarm flicks. Limiting what you have on the line has to be a good thing but ultimately you need a balance in the tackle/rigs for safe and productive fishing. Understanding what each element is actually doing, it's purpose, is key. The more experienced anglers will, quite rightly, point out that most of our efforts should be directed towards fish location and general watercraft. Get that right and you are most of the way there. I am still on that learning curve!

I keep it as simple as possible, quite often in low water conditions just a swanshot on the line and hook tied on the end. Barbel don't seem to worry.

Hugo