• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Richard Carter reels

Aaron Littlefield

Hiya - newbie here so please be kind! :)

I posted my first thread in the 'other fish' section on Richard Carter reels (plus some other queries)...I've been advised that this section is the more frequented with centrepin users, so I've kind of double posted.

I read somewhere online that Richard Carter *might* be making more reels - would anybody know what his contact details are? PM me if you know.

Currently trying to figure out which reel is best for me, and wondering if used RC reels ever come up for sale.

Thanks

Aaron

To give you some background, I've predominately been using Adcock Stanton's over the past 3 years for my angling (4.5", handles, ratchet)...not just for barbel but for general pleasure fishing for anything that bites. Normally I enjoy trotting the river, but I'm beginning to like the idea of ledgering using a centrepin.

I'm in the fortunate position to be able to consider a nice reel, I've got a few spare Adcock's now but fancy a more traditional reel akin to the aerials. I've got some ideas in mind and would welcome your input. My choices so far are:

1) A tidy (i.e. very clean and unmolested) Allcocks Match Aerial (but I'd imagine this would be around £250 at today's prices)

2) A pair of Fred Crouch Jet reels (not sure on width yet), are they as good as an originall Allcocks? Are they still available? :)

3) A Richard Carter reel: more of a fantasy really, I never see them for sale although I'd be tempted if one came up...(do these go for about £300?)

4) Chris Lythe reel: it would be a big expense - and I've heard there is a massive waiting list from other articles I've (12 months+?)