• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Night fishing on Wye

Carey Manning

Hello,

Does anyone know of any fishing beats that offer night fishing on the Wye?

Every stretch I can find only offers day fishing and it would be nice to fish a few hours into darkness.

Any info very much appreciated,

Thanks, Carey

Hello Carey

Im not an expert on the Wye but I have fished it quite a lot and a few different stretches but no where near as many as some of the guys on here.

In general I think most people don`t night fish the Wye for a few reasons

1, As you found out most day ticket stretches are just that day ticket stretches maybe try a club membership

2, the banks are very steep and very dangerous more so when wet

3, it fishes very well during the day

I like night fishing for barbel but I wouldn't fish the Wye all night because I feel even during the day fishing you need to keep your wits about you due to steepness of the banks.

Ive slipped, lost my balance and almost ended up in the river more times than any over river ive fished especially if its raining and thats during the day.

Its a great river with beautiful scenery

Good Luck
GaryC

Thank you for your response, very much appreciated.

The reason for my question is that on the few occasions we have fished it the fishing has been hard all day and then comes alive at dusk (this also ties in with what others have told us on the bank), as such we have to leave as its getting good! I would not actually look to fish all night, and quite agree that some banks are hard enough in daylight to navigate, however a few hours into darkness (from a level swim etc) would be good. Most fisheries i have seen allow an hr after sunset but that is all.