• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

hook lengths

Wayne Pevy

been using flouro with no problems,apart from expense.thinking about preston powerline reflo,as lower diameter and much cheaper.would appreciate some experienced advice please:)

I think thats a pre stretched line which is why you have a lower diameter. If you like using fluorocarbon try the Wychwood one it.s not so expensive. I've been using it for about five years now and not had one problem.It is more supple than most but I like that. This is a link but you might find it even cheaper and thats for a 50mtr spool

Wychwood Fluorocarbon – Glasgow Angling Centre

Try Drennan Fluoro ........cheap as chips and well reliable with the correct knot. Before anyone asks which is the best knot it is the one that you are able to tie that doesn't break.............

just a quick tip for fluro hooklinks in case some dont know.
just pull the link between your finger and thumb a few times to warm it slightly and then it will stretch a bit and be more supple and limp:) this is great for getting rid of the springy problem with some fluros

just a quick tip for fluro hooklinks in case some dont know.
just pull the link between your finger and thumb a few times to warm it slightly and then it will stretch a bit and be more supple and limp:) this is great for getting rid of the springy problem with some fluros

That's a good tip cheers John

I used preston reflo all year and had many more hookups as it was low and clear, cannot wait to see if this comming summer will be the same as last year was fantastic fishing.

Sean