• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Home Made Baits

Gents,
I'm looking to have a go at making my own baits.
Have read about the "John Baker" range of bait, do any of you guys have any experience of ussing these products ?
Any comments would be appreciated.
i'm new to bait making so even the basic information will be of use.

thanks.
andy

Go for something simple from the Mainline range i.e one base mix and one activator liqued. I went down the JB route some years back, buying various additives and liquids and it put less fish on the bank :)

Thanks for the help.

What determines is a bait is "shelf life" or "frozen" ?
Is it the make up of the initial mix?

Hi Andy,
A 'shelf life' bait - usually a boillie has various preservatives included in the product to increase it's 'shelf life'.

Frozen baits, though obviously you can make them yourself and freeze them, in the context you're refering to, are baits made from the manufactures own base mixes, and then frozen, often by one of the many bait rolling services that are out there, they contain no preservatives, though these bait rolling companies will add them if you wish, usually if you are planning a foreign trip, thereby making a Frozen shelf life LOL ! :p

All the best
Ian.

TBH, its really great when you catch a fish on a bait you've made yourself, there's proper sense of achievement goes with it.

Personally, I'd find a decent bait maker and have a good natter with him about baits. There are a good few bait firms who produce good baits at reasonable prices and who are willing to tweak a mix to suit the customer.

That way, you get a good bait at a good price, saves you the hassle and keeps the Mrs happy. There's nowt like the smell of Monster Crab in the kitchen, to pee a woman off.

Thanks for the help.