• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Good barbel rivers in Yorkshire

Kelam Keitch

Hi all I am just starting out on the river/barbel scene I would appreciate any advice on the best place for me to start this up and coming season I live in hull so if there was anywhere close to home worth a go would be nice but willing to travel to get amongst the action. Thanks Kelam.

Hi Kelam,

There are some in the Hull but fair to say that to target them specifically would probably drive you mad!

Might be better to try the Derwent around Stamford Bridge (about 45 mins away). Alternatively, joining the York, Leeds or Bradford clubs would give you access to plenty of rivers with good potential such as the Nidd, Wharfe, Ouse, Swale and some of the more renowned stretches of the Derwent. I used to live in the Hull area and the YDAA yearbook was always my first choice for my river angling.

Should have added that the free section around Stamford Bridge is limited to the picnic area on the left bank just below the road bridge and at the back of the shops. The area at the back of the pub is strictly speaking owned by the pub but they haven't collected day ticket money in years.

Should have added that the free section around Stamford Bridge is limited to the picnic area on the left bank just below the road bridge and at the back of the shops. The area at the back of the pub is strictly speaking owned by the pub but they haven't collected day ticket money in years.

Tight wad ! :)

There is Always the river Don which has a good head of fish. Have a look at the mileage to all the areas you want to fish as you may find the Tidal Trent is possibly closer, apparently on the grapevine there is Barbel there too but dont tell everyone.