• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Centrepin starter

Ben Jennings

I fancy using a centrepin when the river is a little more float friendly. I've never used one before and am wondering what a good starter pin is? I've read about okuma sheffields and there the holland and wilkinson mentioned in the eBay thread, or possibly a tfg One. Im sure there are dozens of others. If you could point me in the direction of a good one then it would be much appreciated. Could I use one on a standard 13 foot float road?

Any help gratefully received.

Fox Bob James on e-bay for £165. very good for the money, lighter than the sheffield too despite having a bigger drum. A very good starter pin.

As Robert has already said, it all depends on how much you are prepared to spend.

Good luck with whatever you choose.

Jeff

I have one of the marco cortessi pins that I would let you have for £30 posted

Very good value for money and unused

I don't see the logic in spending a shed full of coin on something that you may not get on with

Do a search for comments on the cortessi , you won't go wrong with one of them for a 'starter centre pin'

Okuma Sheffield,

1. Certainly light enough.

2. Good availability of parts that can be fitted easily yourself.

3. Spare spools that fit straight from the box, very-very free running.

3. Vastly better design than the "Ariel" style reels (I junked two Bob James reels in favour of the Okuma and that was before he was captured being a cheating currant!).

4. Made from alloy materials, Tougher and more durable than the cheaper aluminium Contasi / TFG / Dragon reels.

5. And if you don't get on with it, it will maintain a similar value to the purchase price.