• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Braid advice and which knots to use?

Jon Kennard

I'm totally new to braid but considering it for my pin for my margin fishing for carp. I fish a small lake that has loads of snags the fish can dive into. I don't seem to be ache to stop the biggest ones either getting in there or the hook pulls. Thinking of using 30lb as more stopping power. I'll match this with an Avon style softer rod. Therefore with attaching mono to the braid which knot is best? Thanks Jon
P.s what would people try to stop the fish?

Stronger rod, one able to turn the fish instead of giving it a chance through a soft action ?

Just a thought, dont like being undergunned myself.

Almost forgot... I use this knot on my beach gear, and also on my LRF setup, its very strong, I have only had the leader snap when using it , never ever the knot....

Dave

Last edited:
Thanks Dave I should of said I'm actually using a 2lb barbel rod so not soft but a through action. The problem I have is my set up is 95% fine it's just when I hook those bigger than average fish. I feel reluctant to go 2 1/4lb etc as won't enjoy the sport as much plus a bit of an over kill.

With all due respect David, I couldn't see myself using that complicated knot, what a "performance" :oops:

Maybe if I fished a beach I'd consider it? but for barbel fishing I've used the double grinner (or often called double uni) to join line (braid to mono), the single grinner (uni) for line to swivel and for coated braid to swivel, for years and have never found the need to look into other knots.