• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Autumn wye barbel approach (this weekend! )

Jon Kennard

Hi guys I've fished for barbel a fair bit over time but not this time off year and after a bear 2 year lay off!!
I'm heading to wye lea this Saturday 29th Oct. To add to the pressure I'm taking my brom who is a newbie to coarse fishing. I've fished there 2 days before but so long ago. I wanted to ask how puerile would approach fishing it?
Conditions in my mind at least look pretty good with some extra water and mild temps.
Do you start with straight leads and cast trying to get a bite or two? Then move if nothing?
Or Is it more a case of baiting up and waiting for the fish to move onto the bait.
Cheers excited Jon

I'm no expert, but as it happens Saturday will be my own first day on the Wye for 3 or 4 years, so thought I'd join in the thread. We'll be taking local advice but as that local advice isn't arriving until after we've started fishing on Saturday, and as we arrive late on Friday and will probably have a chance to bait up then but not fish then, yes, definitely the bait up a couple of swims approach and definitely big feeders on Saturday morning until or unless anyone tells us otherwise. I imagine plenty of leaves coming down so maybe frequent casting of the feeder too?

But we're hoping to floatfish a fait bit too on Sat/Sun, depending on local advice again.

[edit - blimey - my Mrs has just told me who the local advice is - a real angling "superstar" has kindly stepped in to advise us, because the guide she had "won" in a charity auction can't make it]

Last edited: