• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Trudex reels

Hurgen Akindji

Hi all.

I recently won a pair of Trudex reels on eBay. They look in decent condition for their age but wouldn't mind refurbishing them a little. At least a new coat of paint. I've never done anything like this before and would appreciate some advice.

Regards Hurgz

Very difficult to do well Hurgz. To do the job properly at least, any c’pin reel that needs refinishing would first need to be broken down into its constituent parts. Given that the line lays are nearly always riveted at both the back and front plates on the drum, this would require drilling out and then re riveting when reassembling. It’s a huge job.

You could of course either rub back and spray paint the reel after masking up the parts that don’t get painted, or, alternatively brush paint round all these parts but every attemp I’ve seen at doing this looks pretty crap to be fair. If you also consider that any durable finish will either be anodised or powder coated and that both spray paint or brush enamel are both considerably more fragile and prone to chipping….

I have to be honest, I really wouldn’t bother myself. In fact, two Speedias I fettled with I ended up stripping and going for a bare metal finish. That said, I’ve always fancied having one of them gloss powder coated in British Racing Green.

Thanks for your response Haydn.
To be fair that's what I thought anyways. I knew it wouldn't be as simple as I wanted it to be.

@Alan Rose @Haydn Clarke