• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Shimano Twinpower CI4 3000/4000SRA (Tri-Drag)

Status
Not open for further replies.

admin

Administrator
Staff member
Shimano Twinpower CI4 3000/4000SRA (Tri-Drag)

by Chris Jones

image1.jpg

For my general coarse fishing work I've been using a pair of Stradic GTMs for the last ten years plus. They weren't exactly cheap back then and I wasn't anticipating replacing them at all. However, I was in the market for a front drag reel for general leger/feeder work. Being a Shimano fan I was, naturally, looking little further than that brand. The Twinpower CI4 FA grabbed my attention, partly because it wasn't as horribly garish as many of the reels in the Shimano range, I was also intrigued by the EVA handle. However, another reel stole my affection, the Twin Power Ci4 SRA (Tri-Drag). I was deeply suspicious that Tri-Drag was nothing but a gimmick. I was also very wary of it being so much cheaper than the equivalent Twin Power CI4 front drag reel, despite seeming to have the same features (Super Stopper II, Power Roller, Floating Shaft II, Aero Wrap II, S A-RB, SR, AR-C Spool, Dyna-Balance) in every respect barring the drag system. That didn't make much sense to me. The complete lack of information on the web, other than that lifted from the Shimano website, was also a concern. I'd guess that many folks are as sceptical as I was and the model just isn't selling. I suspect that this will mean that bargain hunters might get a good opportunity in the coming months.