• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Question for the rod action/build experts?

Neil Blood

I have 2 Barbel rods, which I use with a centrepin exclusively and if I fish the line off the top of the pin (as I prefer), the line doesn’t touch the last line guide, nearest the reel. Does this negatively affect the rod’s action, whilst playing a fish?

I'm no expert, but I'd say minimally at the very most. Have you looked at how the line lies in your guides under maximum tension? If your 2 rods are identical then maybe look at the action under maximum stress with line coming off the top with one rod, and off the bottom with the other? I have my line coming 'off the top' and have never seen it as an issue.
N.b.. I s'pose you could always fit a smaller butt line guide if it does trouble you.

From experience to date, I don’t believe it is an issue; however I am just curious? One is a Perigrine Paul 4 Barbel rod and the other a custom build, with similar ringing i.e two butt rings close together to aid pulling loops for casting. With the line off the bottom of the pin, all line guides touch the line; however with line from the top of the pin, it’s shoots straight through both bottom line guides and makes contact with the 3rd line guide up.

Under moderate pressure, the line still appears not to make contact with the bottom 2 butt rings.

Neil : When I "designed and built" the prototype Paul4 Barbel Rods (the same two that I use today) I didn't consider anyone having line coming off the top of the reel. But I can't imaging that there would be any problems if the line didn't contact the line guides. In fact don't line guides do just that, guide the line (to the curve of the rod under load), so nothing I can see that would cause concern.

I'm sure Bob will have a view :)