• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Pre baiting.......

Jamie Armitage

Anybody got any advice or baiting routine ?
Its a small swim with a few big fish in but your not able to see them.
Can anybody tell me how you've gone about it ? do's on don'ts?

cheers jamie

Have a read of the BFW articles Jamie. Lots of questions you have no doubt will be answered there.
I'm no expert but have dabbled with some degree of success. On small rivers use a quality bait and prebait little and very often. I fish short sessions into the evening far too often so can feed my chosen swim while fishing if I choose to fish that way. Haven't yet this season as exploring new venues.
A word of caution if i may. You get a few grumpy anglers stuck in their ways who do not like to embrace change. Past experience has told them that their chosen method works all the time. So they are quick to blame others, even though the reasons for their failure is obvious to you. Be wary of these anglers but be polite, even though they gossip like some ladies do. :D:p

From my limited experience and what better anglers than myself have said: don't fish into their place of sanctuary, but draw them out. Good luck and here's to you posting a few photos in the not-too-distant future!