• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

My story of catching a river record - by Paul Whiteing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul Whiteing

Administrator
Staff member
Well, the St.Pats, home of some big fish, you just have to turn up and catch one ..... MYTH !!

Ok, someone could get a big fish on their very first session, but if you feel tempted to join TDFC you'd have to
be prepared for blanks, lots and lots and lots of blanks. But it's a lovely setting to blank in.

So, yes, I did get a particularly big fish last year. But I've been fishing there for over 10 years, and preferring the less-popular stretch where many won't walk. I like solitude and where there are less people the more I like it - miserable bugger? perhaps.

Now in all honesty I don't fish the St. Pats that much, I like the Loddon (not only TDFC waters) but that's hard too - twenty-five blanks before I'd got a single fish on the river. I like to fish evenings so I have to choose venues where the rules allow.

But I digress from the story.

This particular afternoon I had planned, as usual, to go to the Loddon but an old friend from the Kennet days, before the Kennet was ruined by so many factors (but that's another story), needed a shot in the arm to hopefully rekindle his barbel mojo. He didn't need to catch, he just needed a new venue, new scenery, coupled with a chance of a fish which had proven almost a forlorn hope on the Kennet.