• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

LHW /RHW centrepins

David Craine

Senior Member & Supporter
Maybe I am a bit slow...

Just been reading Roberts classified advert re the Barbel Catcher centrepin.....then I looked on the Barbel Catcher centrepin website, but still cant fathom out..

How can a centrepin be just right hand wind ? They all wind both ways as far as I know.

Is it just that the line guard is not reversible ?

I have been using my centrepins for many years, and they can be used either way.

Dave

It can be due to the line guard. But the ratchet design also has a influence. As I believe a lot are set up for right hand wind. Which means unless you fish the line off the top of the reel when using it left handed the ratchet will be stronger when you reel in rather than when line is being taken off by a fish.

I suspect it's to do with the line guard, my Aerial Perfection has a mounting that is an integral part of the body and cannot be changed,..my Grice and Young ARS has two sets of tapped holes, front and rear on the body,.which makes it ambidextrous.
The position of ratchet and brake levers is offset on some reels.
I've just had a look at 3 pins and the simple ratchet finger is symmetrical which gives equal resistance in both directions. Same applies to the spline on the spool which have symmetrical teeth.
It's quite possible for a ratchet to be made to offer less resistance in one direction but not the case on mine it seems.
If over used, some ratchet mechanisms can ware ,...especially if yer getting lots of vicious barbel takes!:D

You can use it either way but Garry mills made it for me so the ratchet is easily accessible with the index finger other wise it would be behind my hand on a left hand wind centrepin.