• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Initial pre-baiting of a new stretch with Boilies

Jon Frisby

Senior Member & Supporter
I must admit, i am a bit of a novice with boilies. However i will persevere with a little help.
I am planning on using some high quality Boilies on my local small river, the river has seen limited use of boilies, if any, its not fished a great deal, and has a small to medium head of fish, ranging up to doubles.
Q's
1. I have found 4 pegs to bait up within 200m, how many boilies shall i put in each?
2. How often shall i bait up prior to fishing?
3. How long will it take for the fish to come on the bait.

Thank you very much in advance to replies.

Jon

baiting up

Try baiting up with hemp and sweetcorn..better bet early on in season would use boilies later on..but i guess everyone has their own preference..:)

probably best to bait swims every other day or so..it helps if you can see if the bait is being taken..dont go over the top with boilies or pellets which is why i would advise using hemp and corn because you cant over feed and also it will keep fish coming back for more..

i,ve just seen this on another barbel forum but apparently according to the ea under no circumstances is it allowed to bait swims during closed season,

can anyone shed any light on this as i also planned on a prebaiting some new swims and i,ve been feeding chub in some shallow runs for the past couple of weeks
cheers
jerry

hi jerry..thats a new one on me mate...never heard that before..would be interesting if anyone else can shed some light on the subject..

Jerry, where did you hear that ? i've never heard of it.

Jon, firstly are you after the biggest, or just numbers ?