• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Fishing a river in flood

Matt Withers

I’ll start this by saying I’m fairly new to river fishing in general, fishing for barbel more so, I know the basics, and catch reasonably well when the rivers at normal levels, I always struggle when the waters up, although I did catch my pb barbel on a flooded ribble, the stretches I fish, to me seem generally devoid of slack water when the rivers high, I’ve found a few slacks and do occasional catch , but for me I generally end up trying to fish into the main flow, some times it works, mostly it doesn’t, how would you approach a flooded river if there was no slack water available ?

I’ll start this by saying I’m fairly new to river fishing in general, fishing for barbel more so, I know the basics, and catch reasonably well when the rivers at normal levels, I always struggle when the waters up, although I did catch my pb barbel on a flooded ribble, the stretches I fish, to me seem generally devoid of slack water when the rivers high, I’ve found a few slacks and do occasional catch , but for me I generally end up trying to fish into the main flow, some times it works, mostly it doesn’t, how would you approach a flooded river if there was no slack water available ?
Hi Matt
Floodwater fishing is quite an extensive subject and lot's of us will have differing views on the best way to approach them.
Different rivers demand different tactics due to the substrate of the river bed e.g. whether the river bed is gravel or rocky and therefore snaggy.

I feel you need to talk to Ribble regulars who I'm sure would be only too happy to give you advice on the best tactics for where you are fishing.

If you ever find yourself down on the Hants Avon or Dorset Stour I will be happy to advise ;)