• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Feeding in colder water

Lars Snipen

I am new to barbel this year, and have been fishing the Ribble. I haven't caught a barbel since mid-september, and I am wondering about the feeding of swims now when the water is colder (7-9 C these days).

Do you feed the swim prior to fishing? How much? Do you use feeders or plain sinker during fishing? Feeders make a lot of noise... How long do you leave the bait before you re-cast?

Anyone more experienced want to share an opinion on this?

give em nowt

pellet or boillie with a paste wrap to match chosen bait,and plip plop a few in! a little rise in water temp might just trigger them to feed but they need nowt compared with earlier in season,good luck!

pellet or boillie with a paste wrap to match chosen bait,and plip plop a few in! a little rise in water temp might just trigger them to feed but they need nowt compared with earlier in season,good luck!

Agree with mark i just fish the boilie and paste with smallest bomb possible to hold bottom .leave it in a long time over an hour if its on the spot
If all else fails ring paul hamer or steve foran that useally brings a bite.did on sunday had nothing for 5 hours steve rang said hello fish on:eek:

An observation from another newcomer:

I have found since the weather turned cooler that luncheon meat (Garlic Spam in my case) has been more effective and if I do introduce any feed then just a few small pieces the same as hookbait/hair rigged bait. I also keep on the move spending no more than an hour in a swim.