• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

European Barbel varieties

• Thread starter Deleted member 2708
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 2708

My only previous barbel catch prior to moving to France was a fish around 4lb from the Swale at Topcliffe millpool.

Many of the barbel we catch here on the Lot, France are small and have big heads in relation to their bodies. The few bigger ones seem different in having heads more in proportion to their bodies.

IMG_20200909_193310237.jpg

IMG_20190917_192754300.jpg

All seem very fit and healthy, do those two barbel look exactly the same species?

Do UK barbel appear to have "big heads" at certain stages of their growth?

Still a barbel novice here, always some more questions to ask!

Very interesting question, there was a thread years ago that meandered down a similar path.

I have often thought we have 2 species of barbel in the UK, like you say there does appear to be 2 distinct types but apparently they just look different and aren’t different sub species.

There is another barbel species called barbus plebejus (Italian barbel) which looks very similar to our barbus barbus. When you look at the 2 side by side it does appear that this could be an explanation for why it appears we have 2 species in the UK but I think it’s a case of adding 2 + 2 and getting 5.

Very interesting and as ever much better than doing my work.

ATB