• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Elip pellets

Brian Willson

Senior Member & Supporter
I have been using Elip pellets for many years, i have had no problems from this great bait, but my latest bulk buy which i received about two months ago seems different, the 10mm size seems darker in colour and stinks like !!!!!
you know what, is it my age, or my nose, has anyone noticed the same problem.
I have stopped using the ground elip because once it's on your clothing, it's one hell of a job to get rid of the smell.
All the bait was purchased from Hinders.
Brian Willson Throop Bailiff.

Brian, I noticed the change, the larger size were slightly bigger too, however have been catching just the same so hasn't worried me.

Hi Brian,

On my first batch of these from Hinders, so can't really comment on the colour, but I know what you mean about the ground elips...that is ruddy lethal, isn't it :D

Not only that, but as mentioned in a previous thread, the ground stuff is extremely difficult to make into a decent paste, due probably to it's incredibly oily nature. It will undoubtedly be possible with a suitable binder, but as I have had no joy at all when using it in other applications, I haven't bothered.

Did you have any joy using the ground stuff, say in a feeder for instance? I caught using the pellets alone, but adding the powder seemed to kill the swim :eek: I wondered if the smell was too overpowering in the ground form, but it's probably only me :D

Cheers, Dave.

Last edited:
Hi Dave,