• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Barbel On The Pole - by Denis Darkin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Articles

Super Moderator
Staff member
Barbel On The Pole

By Denis Darkin
I just know that I am going to get a load of stick for writing this but so what, it won't be the first time, and probably not the last.

I have been fishing since 1949 and have tried most styles ranging from hurling 6oz leads out to sea to casting a delicate fly for brook trout; trottting for dace ,chub roach and barbel, I spent years spinning for Pike and seatrout ,stalking carp on the surface and of course the static modern approach with self hooking rigs.

I will if needed fish anywhere to catch fish, ranging from a garden pond (for the BBC) to the Atlantic surf (for Bass).

I have used, as they became available, Greenheart, Wholecane and Spanish Reed, converted ex Army Tank Arials, Split Cane, Glass and now of coarse Carbon fibre. My lines have ranged from twisted silk (sold in 25yd lengths on a card) to nylon in its various forms, wire on a boat rod, and now the modern ultra thin and strong braids.

Over the years I have had many memorable moments, many occasions when I have hardly been able to get the hook out of the fish because my hands were shaking so much. My first 35lb carp had me floating on air for weeks, my first 2lb roach left me so shocked that I almost packed up and went home, after all what was there left to do when you have your first Two Pounder after 48years of trying?.BUT I have to say this, NOTHING compares to catching a big fish on a Pole.