• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Barbel baits

Lee White

Hi i am a complete novice when it comes to barbel fishing and was thinking is there different times of the year when barbel prefer diffrent baits
I am a fed up carp angler but i know summer fish meal winter hi viz fruit baits ect so does the same apply with barbel hi protein summer low protein winter and so on or just the same baits all year

If you’re fishing in water temps which lock up the oils in fish meal baits, my experience is you’re robably not going to catch much, whatever your bait. Any quality boile, pellets and spam all catch plenty of barbel summer and winter (when conditions are favourable).

If you’re fishing in water temps which lock up the oils in fish meal baits, my experience is you’re robably not going to catch much, whatever your bait. Any quality boile, pellets and spam all catch plenty of barbel summer and winter (when conditions are favourable).

Been using hinders barbel bombs but was thinking what they would be like in colder waters again if the oils would congeial or am i just over thinking things

The last couple of seasons, I've drifted away from boillies and pellets, I'm just finding that I catch more and better fish on Spam or Bacon Grill. Don't fish square cubes like most do (rough chunks are better), do flavour and colour it and don't be afraid to fish half a tin on the hook (especially after dark). In fact after dark or in flood conditions, there is no better bait for Barbel IMHO.

No need to hair rig it either, pull a long shank hook through the meat, turn 90 degrees and pull the hook back into the meat.